Il sito del latte di capra
Dove Acquistare i prodotti di capra Amalattea
 
 

F.A.Q. ABOUT GOAT'S MILK


 

Q.: My child is ..........years/months old, can I give him/her AMALATTEA milk instead of cow's milk produced by the municipal milk processing plant? - (cow's) milk powder? - rice or soy milk?

A: Goat milk has always been excluded from regulations in force, however it can be drunk by children from the age of 12 months. In the past it was widely used by poor people and in particular it was drunk by malnourished children, the elderly and the sick since it was easier to digest than cow's milk. All healthy children can drink goat milk instead of other kinds of milk. Children who suffer from cow's milk intolerance or allergy may benefit from drinking Amalattea goat's milk unless intolerance is exclusively due to lactose (the kind of sugar contained in any type of milk). What we suggest then is drinking or giving children goat milk for the first time after asking the opinion of an expert paediatrician or nutritionist.
If compared to soy or rice drinks, goat milk tastes much better, therefore it is much easier for children to drink it.
In case of need or when no alternatives are practicable, AMALATTEA milk can be given to children younger than 12 months after having been thinned down as with cow's milk. This is practicable only under close medical supervision.

Q.: My child is sensitive to the lactalbumin in cow's milk. Can I give him/her goat milk?

A.: Biologically-alike food may contain antigens that do not cause cross reactions: lactalbumin is a specific-to-species protein, therefore lactalbumin contained in goat milk is different from cow's milk protein. This means that goat milk can substitute cow's milk for cow lactalbumin-sensitive patients.

Q.: My child is sensitive to alfa-casein in cow's milk. Can I give him/her goat milk?

A.: Alfa-casein is characterised by various typologies, whose proportion changes according to the animal species. The two main typologies are alfa-S1  and alfa-S2. Goat milk's content in alfa-S1 casein is scarce or non-existent. Which does not only explain the different dairy properties of cow and goat milk, but also why – to a great extent – people who are allergic to cow's milk can drink goat milk and eat its by-products with no problems at all.

Q.: AMALATTEA goat's milk is naturally lower-fat milk than cow's milk?

A.: Fat-content contained in AMALATTEA goat whole milk is similar to cow's whole milk's. People on a slimming diet do not specifically benefit from switching from one type of whole milk to the other, however they may choose Amalattea semi-skimmed milk.

Q.: I am affected by hypercholesterolemia. My doctor suggested that I drink goat milk and eat goat cheese instead of fish and poultry. What should I do?

A.: After adding goat milk and cheese to “careful” diets followed by patients affected by metabolic disorders due to hypercholesterolemia,  hypertriglyceremia and hyperglycaemia, improvements in the levels of calcaemia (calcium concentration in blood) have been detected, with a reduction in the risk of osteoporosis and no change in cholesterol levels in the blood. Moreover, it appears confirmed that good cholesterol (HDL – high density lipoprotein) is produced to the detriment of bad cholesterol (LDL – low density lipoprotein). Thanks to their characteristics, goat milk and cheese may also be used for developing therapeutic diets both in the gastro-enterologic and geriatric fields of medicine.

Q.: I practice lots of sport. Will I benefit from drinking goat milk and eating goat cheese?

A.: Content in calcium is excellent, content in phosphorous is good and contents in potassium and chlorine are very high, therefore goat milk is an ideal food supplement for salts lost during intense or prolonged sport activities, and it is the ideal alternative to those very expensive “drinks” sold on the market. Moreover, since it is easily digested, it can also be drunk just before a sport competition.

Q.: I am leaving for a trip and I'll travel a few hours by car. Can I bring a few AMALATTEA intact cartons? Do I have to pay special attention to something?

A.: When cartons are intact, the milk's properties cannot be deteriorated. However, do not forget that after the cartons have been opened, milk must be kept in the fridge at a temperature of 4°C and drunk within 3 days.

Q.: I go out with my child and bring AMALATTEA milk with me, I'll give it to him/her in a couple of hours. Is there any problem?

A.: When you go out, you can bring AMALATTEA milk with you, but make sure that the carton is intact, so there is no problem at all. A little milk taken from an intact carton that was cooled down in the fridge for a few hours can then be poured into a small Thermos flask and brought with you as well. It is advisable not to give it to the child if more than two hours have gone by since the opening of the cooled carton. These precautionary measures are of the essence when the external temperature is higher than 7-8 °C.

Q.: Can I use AMALATTEA milk to bake cakes or cook other kinds of food?

A.: AMALATTEA milk can be used as if it were cow's milk.

Q.: Can the elderly drink AMALATTEA milk instead of cow's milk?

A.: Of course they can. Moreover, should people be affected by a disease, Amalattea milk may be a very suitable drink. Please ask your GP and inform him/her of the existence of AMALATTEA goat milk: they are often not aware of its existence and this is why they do not recommend it.

Q.: After opening the carton, do I have to drink all the milk immediately?

A.: After opening the carton, you can keep it in the fridge and drink it within 3 days. What is not advisable is freezing milk in your freezer.

Q.: What's the E339ii stabilizer, that I read among the ingredients? Can it cause problems? Why was it replaced with E331?

A.:  E339ii is Bi-sodium Phosphate. It is just a type of salt, traces of it are added to milk, thus allowing it to better go through the heat treatment needed to sterilise it (it increases milk density thus preventing protein from concentrating at the bottom of the carton.) No contra-indications are reported, however it has been substituted by E331, tri-sodium citrate, that is a kind of salt with the same function as phosphate, but E331 – unlike E339ii – does not sequester calcium, making it biologically available for cell absorption.

Q.: I am allergic to cow's milk (or soy milk). Can I drink goat milk?

A.: When we refer to actual allergy to (cow's) milk, we always mean the allergic reaction to PROTEINS. Goat milk contains only traces of that protein to which people allergic to cow's milk are sensitive, i.e. alfa S1-Casein, therefore goat milk may be tolerated. Goat milk does not contain soy proteins. In any case, if you are allergic, it is advisable to ask your GP's opinion before drinking it, since anaphylactic shock may follow.

Q.: I am allergic to cow's milk. I have been told that proteins' power to cause an allergy diminishes if milk is cooked for long. Is it true? Is this true for Amalattea goat milk as well?

A.: The long boiling time denatures proteins and diminishes (but does not entirely eliminate) their power to cause an allergy. Amalattea goat milk has already been treated at high temperature (UHT), therefore you do not have to cook it for long, just warm it up. In such a way the nutritional properties of micro-nutrients are not destroyed.

Q.: My stomach is very sensitive. Can goat milk be the right solution if I have digestive difficulties?

A.: Goat milk is not a medication, it is food in itself, just as cow's milk. Moreover, it is easily digested since its fat droplets are smaller and, as a consequence, are easily emulsified by bile acids, so they remain in the digestive apparatus for a considerably shorter time. As a result, goat’s milk is often tolerated by a weak or sensitive digestive apparatus. As for goat milk, two elements are really interesting: 1) this kind of “fat” is 98% triglycerides, short- and medium-chain fatty acids are predominant [caproic a. (C6), caprylic a. (C8) and capric a. (C10) get to 15% if compared to 5% in cow's milk] and 2) the ingestion of higher quantities of “good” cholesterol (10 mg/100g) instead of “bad” cholesterol.
A number of studies have shown that caprylic and capric acids, as well as medium-chain acids, are metabolically able to give energy to the body and, at the same time, they inhibit the formation of cholesterol deposits, and they are also able to dissolve them.

Q.: I have been told not to eat dairy product or ingest lactose. Does goat milk contain lactose?

A.: Milk produced by mammals, breast milk included, contains lactose (sugar). In any case, goat milk can be drunk by those people who have been mistakenly diagnosed as suffering from an intolerance to lactose (in this case a pseudo-intolerance). What is possible is that, thanks to its high digestibility (if compared to cow's milk), goat milk's residues are but very few in the intestine, so fermentation phenomena in the colon do not occur, which would otherwise result in a number of unpleasant symptoms due to pseudo-intolerance, such as flatulence, diarrhoea, constipation etc.

Q.: As for its nutritional content, what about the differences between goat milk and cow's milk?

A.: Goat milk and cow's milk are different as for concentration and type of nutrients. If compared to cow's milk, goat milk contains 13% more calcium, 25% more vitamin B6, 47% more vitamin A, 134% more potassium and 350% more niacin (vit. B3). The proportion calcium/phosphorous (1:3) is very similar to breast milk's and it is the ideal choice for a child's growth. Moreover, a great deal of taurine, selenium and polyamines can also be found in goat milk.

Q.: Is AMALATTEA goat milk enriched with folic acid, basic fatty acids, iron?

A.: AMALATTEA milk is 100% UHT goat milk with no additional ingredients, therefore any nutritional supplement for it to become the ideal food for your children's growth must be prescribed by your specialist.

 


 
(c)2008 Amalattea SPA - P.I. 06487281005 - Informativa Legale - Privacy